Battlefield V’s “The Last Tiger” – a battle with ethics and morals

War is not about binaries, and nor should videogames.

For one of my game design modules this semester a gap opened up for a new session. But how can I best utilise this opportunity? After a discussion with a colleague to explore different possibilities, the role of rules and ethics (as well as the work of Miguel Sicart) emerged as interesting points for students to consider.

To help explore this concept I needed an interesting case study. Whilst Sicart provides a few in his book The Ethics of Computer Games, I wanted to use something that I personally found interesting as well as more contemporary (even if the example I went with is now five years old).

Read more

I have started using Medium to write and post my long form posts. Partly because it is more efficient for the kind of content I write, but also because it shows up in Google, plus Medium has inbuilt discoverability. It’s not perfect, and I am yet to find such a place, but it is doing the job for now.

For the time being I will post a link to my Medium posts here for those who have come across my website.

By James Sweeting

Lecturer in GameStudies. Transnational Education Lead: Digital Design. PhD researcher focusing on nostalgia, hauntology, & videogame form.

Leave a comment